If your works have been imported to the Archive of Our Own (AO3), you may have received an email asking you to click a link to claim or remove your works. This tutorial lists the options as presented on the claim page that the link opens, and adds further explanation.
Please note: any option you select will apply to ALL of the works that were listed in the claim email, even if only some of them are immediately visible on this page.
Claiming Your Imported Works
An archive including some of your work(s) has been moved to the Archive of Our Own. Please let us know what you’d like us to do with them. If you do nothing, the work(s) will remain attached to the archivist account.
If you would like to edit the work(s), or handle different work(s) separately, please claim them first. You can then use the Edit Works feature on your personal archive home page to orphan, delete, or edit them either in groups or one at a time. (You will be able to delete the account if you wish after editing.)
If you want to take another look at your work(s) before you make your decision, but don’t have an Archive account, contact Open Doors with your pseud and the titles of your work(s) and we will send you a copy.
Claim All Works
The text and button that appears in this section is different, depending on whether or not you are currently logged into an AO3 account.
If you are logged in, it will read:
Claim your works with your logged-in account. If you would like to claim these works under a different account (or create a new account to claim them with), log out and reload this page first.
Button text: Add these works to my currently-logged-in account
Below the button should be a list of all works that have been imported on behalf of your email address. Clicking the “Add these works to my currently-logged-in account” button will add all of those works to the AO3 account that you are logged into.
If you are not currently logged in, it will read:
We invite you to join our beta and create an account! The works will automatically be added to your account and you will have full control over them.
If you already have an archive account, log in and reload this page, and we’ll assign you the works.
Button text: Sign me up and give me my works! Yay!
Below the button should be a list of all works that have been imported on behalf of your email address. Clicking the “Sign me up and give me my works! Yay!” button will activate an archive invitation and allow you to create an AO3 account. All of the listed works will be added to your new AO3 account as soon as you finish creating the account.
Leave my works in the care of the archivist.
This option means that nothing changes. Your works will remain on the AO3, attributed to the pseud you used on the imported archive, attached to the imported archive’s archivist account. This option allows you to come back later if you change your mind.
Orphan my works and take my email address off them, but keep my name. View orphaning FAQ
This option will assign all of your works to the AO3 Orphan account, and you will no longer receive notifications for it. It will be attributed to the pseud you used on the imported archive, and then it cannot be edited by you or anyone. Please check the work first, to see if there is any identifying information you want to remove. Claim the works using the option above if you would like to edit it, or contact Open Doors to ask for specific text to be removed, and then orphaned, keeping your name.
Assign my works to the AO3 orphan_account, removing both my name and email address.
This option will assign all of your imported works to the AO3 Orphan account, and you will no longer receive notifications for it. It will be attributed only to the orphan_account pseud, and then it cannot be edited by you or anyone. Please check the work first, to see if there is any identifying information you want to remove. Claim the works using the option above if you would like to edit it, or contact Open Doors to ask for specific text to be removed, and then orphaned, removing your name.
Please remove my works from the archive entirely.
This option will delete all of the listed, imported works from the AO3.
From now on, do not import works with this email address.
This option will prevent (in the future) any works from being automatically imported from other archives if you posted them under this email address.
Do not email me in the future when works are imported with this email address.
This option will disable the notification emails that are usually sent when a work is imported.
Important: If you tick “Do not email me in future” but do not tick “Do not import works”, works may be imported without you being told. If that’s not what you want, turn off importing as well as emails.
This note explains the above option.